DVD Review: Frozen

Had some down time earlier this week to check out budding horror director Adam Green’s newest flick Frozen.

This poster would be a lot more terrifying if his pants were around his ankles.

This time around Green (Hatchet, Coffee & Donuts) takes us on a horrifying ride up a ski lift, as three college-age buds become stranded on a chairlift and are forced to make a number of life-or-death decisions.

The poster claims that this movie “will do for skiing what Jaws did for swimming.” Hmm. Well I hate skiing, maybe it’s the fact that every time I went it was in Wrong Turn, North Carolina, or maybe the fact that the snow there was more like solid ice or perhaps it was that my last memory of skiing is having my lift ticket snatched off my coat by Ski Patrol or maybe just that I hate being cold. Regardless, skiing sucks. So “omg I hope this doesn’t ruin my skiing vacations for me” never really crossed my mind.

So not really having any real sense of fear or “could this happen to me???” going on, I still got a real thrill out of the movie. You get a nice little set up for the first 20 minutes or so, two lifelong besties “Lynch” (Played by Shawn Ashmore, Iceman from the X-Men franchise, lmao, ICEMAN?! FROZEN!?!? GET IT!?!) and “Dan” (Kevin Zeggers, stupid CW shows) take to the slopes for their annual getaway from the real world, but this time Dan brings his new squeeze “Parker” (Emma Bell) along. There’s a little tension between the three that gets you excited to see how it will play out once they become stranded.

From L to R: Hottie, CW, Iceman

I don’t want to get into any specifics or spoilers but the movie really does set up for the action and thrills nicely. The transition from “fun weekend” to “we might die” flows pretty well, with the fear and life-or-death realization coming pretty naturally, doesn’t seem too forced or anything. The characters are pretty stock, but all three young actors do a pretty good job of bringing some realism to them.

The dialogue is pretty cut-and-dry, nothing bad, but nothing spectacular. I really do like the interaction between the characters once they realize how much trouble they’re really in. Though it’s in the same vein as Open Water, the movie and the premise on the lift are both pretty original. The fact that Green wrote and directed the flick will definitely get me to check out some of his past work. All around a good little movie.

I’ll give it 3.5 Frank Caliendo impressions out of 5. Definitely a good rent for any thriller fan. Check out the trailer below.

*One more note, the entire time I was watching the movie I kept thinking “I know this Kevin Zeggers kid from somewhere.” Well, when I checked the movie’s IMDB page I checked out his filmography to see where I recognized him from. Gossip Girl? No. The Jane Austen Book Club? DING DING Coooorrrect NO. And then I saw it, way back from 1997.

That's right! A young Kevin Zeggers starred in everyone's favorite film from 1997, L.A. Confidential!

Leave a Reply

